We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Cheat the Snake

from Year of Menace by Game of Patience



2020 will be remembered as the year Covid-19 pandemic spread worldwide and disrupted our way of life. Year of Menace, the 3rd album release from South-East Asian-based group Game of Patience, didn’t start out as a statement but its release is a timely representation of our troubled times. 

The music crosses the comfort threshold with reproductive cells of electronic and acoustic particles decimating the staid state of tradition; creating future sounds for tomorrow’s sorrow. Year of Menace is electro-acoustic improv at its most daring and inspired and a product of telepathic communication between Yong Yandsen on tenor, Brian O’Reilly on contrabass and electronics and Darren Moore on snare and percussion.


from Year of Menace, released May 25, 2020
Game of Patience
Yong Yandsen - Saxophone
Brian O'Reilly - Contrabass and Electronics
Darren Moore - Snare and Percussion

Recorded at Lasalle College of the Arts, Singapore on 14 June 2019
Recorded by Game of Patience
Mix and mastered by Joe Talia
Cover photography by Tey Beng Tze
Cover design by Darren Moore
LaoBan 2020


all rights reserved



LaoBan Records Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

LaoBan Records is an independent Malaysian experimental music label. The label focuses on releasing improvised experimental music and serves to document a group of artists who have performed and developed together through exchanges made within South East Asia and beyond. ... more

contact / help

Contact LaoBan Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this track or account

LaoBan Records recommends:

If you like LaoBan Records, you may also like: